Prof. Sohi named recipient of 2016 IEEE Computer Society B. Ramakrishna Rau Award

Back to News

Sohi_Gurindar_Feature_266x400.jpg#asset:IEEE Computer Society awards committee has selected Dr. Gurindar S. Sohi to receive the 2016 B. Ramakrishna Rau Award "for pioneering techniques enabling instruction-level parallelism and speculative multithreading via cooperative resource scheduling between offline compiler and runtime micro-architecture elements.”

Gurindar (Guri) Sohi has been a faculty member at the University of Wisconsin-Madison since 1985 where he is currently a Vilas Research Professor, a John P. Morgridge Professor and the E. David Cronon Professor of Computer Sciences. He was the chair of the Department of Computer Sciences from 2004 until 2008.

Sohi's research has been in the design of high-performance microprocessors and computer systems. Results from his research can be found in almost every high-end microprocessor in the market today. He has taught classes ranging from introductory first-year students to advanced graduate students and supervised 20 PhD students.

He received the 1999 ACM SIGARCH Maurice Wilkes award "for seminal contributions in the areas of high issue rate processors and instruction level parallelism" and the 2011 ACM/IEEE Eckert-Mauchly Award "for pioneering widely used micro-architectural techniques for instruction-level parallelism.”

At the University of Wisconsin he was selected as a Vilas Associate in 1997, a WARF Kellett Mid-Career Faculty Researcher in 2000, a WARF Named Professor in 2007, and a Vilas Research Professor in 2015. He is a Fellow of both the ACM and the IEEE and was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2009.

A certificate and a $2000 honorarium are awarded by the Computer Society in recognition of important work related to microarchitectural technology, including both hardware and compiler optimization. The award is presented for significant contributions in the field of computer microarchitecture and compiler code generation. Further information about the award, including a list of past recipients, may be found at

The Rau award will be presented at the MICRO-49 Conference on Tuesday, October 18, 2016 in Taipei, Taiwan.

The B. Ramakrishna Rau Award was established in memory of B. Ramakrishna Rau, and awarded in recognition of his distinguished career in promoting and expanding the use of innovative computer microarchitecture techniques, including his innovation in compiler technology, his leadership in academic and industrial computer architecture, and his extremely high personal and ethical standards.

About IEEE Computer Society

IEEE Computer Society, the computing industry’s unmatched source for technology information and career development, offers a comprehensive array of industry-recognized products, services and professional opportunities. Known as the community for technology leaders, IEEE Computer Society’s vast resources include membership, publications, a renowned digital library, training programs, conferences, and top-trending technology events. Visit for more information on all products and services.

Story courtesy of the Department of Computer Sciences