Six young L&S alums earn Forward under 40 awards

March 12th 2015
Back to News

Six alumni of the College of Letters & Science are among nine young UW-Madison graduates being honored with the Forward under 40 award, presented by the Wisconsin Alumni Association (WAA).

Presented since 2008, the Forward under 40 awards honor UW-Madison alumni under the age of 40 who are already making a significant impact on the world by upholding the Wisconsin Idea, the principle that knowledge and discovery from the university positively impact the world beyond the borders of campus.

"While their accomplishments are diverse, it's easy to see the common threads of community woven throughout the innovations and service of this year's honorees," says WAA President Paula Bonner. "These young Badgers continue the legacy of a Wisconsin education as they bring sustainability to food and landscapes, empower youth across the nation, share Wisconsin warmth and hospitality, and build our state's economy."

The 2015 L&S recipients are:

Heidi Allstop (B.A.'10, Psychology), San Francisco. Allstop is managing director of MeToo, and chief executive officer and founder of Spill, Inc., an online forum where students can share difficulties and receive peer responses. Allstop worked with mentors to grow Spill into an international presence with users in 24 countries.

Jill Carey (B.A.'08, Journalism and Political Science), Chicago. After graduation, Carey joined Teach for America and taught on the south side of Chicago for more than two years. In 2013, Carey co-founded Smarty Pants Yoga, a girl-power and literacy enrichment program for elementary school girls that teaches emotional, social and physical health. Carey is a former editor-in-chief of The Daily Cardinal.

Jonny Hunter (B.A.'05, English; MPA'11), Madison. While a student, Hunter founded Underground Food collective, which now includes Underground Butcher; Forequarter Restaurant, nominated for best new restaurant by the James Beard Foundation; Underground Meats, winner of three Good Food awards and recognized for its commitment to sustainability; and Underground Catering. The company works with more than 100 small Wisconsin farms, with $2 million in returns to producers. Hunter has also been instrumental in fundraising through "Bike the Barns."

Trevon Logan (B.S.'99, Economics), Columbus, Ohio. A former Chancellor's Scholar, Logan is now an associate professor of economics at The Ohio State University, and serves as an affiliate and research associate for three policy centers. He is the youngest-ever president of the National Economic Association, director of undergraduate studies and advisor to the Undergraduate Economics Society, and received the OSU Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching in 2014. He has advised senior White House officials and serves on the American Economic Association's Committee on the Status of Minority Groups in the Economics Profession.

Gabriel Stulman (B.A.'03, History and Political Science), New York City. Stulman is a restaurateur and entrepreneur in New York who discovered his passion while working in restaurants to support his education at the UW, where he earned his degree in history and political science. While initially called "Little Wisco" because of strong representation of Wisconsinites among his staff, Stulman's family of six restaurants is now called Happy Cooking Hospitality. He was included on a "40 Under 40" list by Crain's New York Business and named "Restaurateur of the Year" by Esquire Magazine in 2012.

Troy Vosseller (B.A.'06, Economics, History and History of Science, and Political Science; MBA'09; J.D.'10), Madison. Vosseller and fellow Forward under 40 recipient Joe Kirgues (J.D.'08) are co-founders of gener8tor, a startup accelerator program that, to date, has launched more than 30 companies. Prior to founding gener8tor, Vosseller's ventures included founding apparel company Sconnie Nation. The two contribute their expertise to the UW Law School's Law & Entrepreneurship Clinic.

To see the full list of winners, visit the Wisconsin Alumni Association's website. The 2015 recipients will be honored through university and alumni programs throughout the year.

Submit your nomination for the 2016 Forward under 40 awards.

Story by Kate Dixon, Wisconsin Alumni Association