L&S Administration

The College administration provides a range of administrative and management services across the college. We hope this page will help you identify the appropriate offices and person for any questions you may have. Updates to this directory should be sent to info@ls.wisc.edu

Contact the College of Letters & Science: 

Room 105 South Hall 
1055 Bascom Mall 
University of Wisconsin–Madison 
Madison, WI 53706
Phone: 608-263-2303
Email: info@ls.wisc.edu

Office of the Dean

Campus Address: 105 South Hall
Phone: (608) 263-2303
Fax: (608) 265-356

John Karl Scholz, Dean
Email: karl.scholz@wisc.edu

Beth Hart (formerly Hartzheim), Assistant to the Dean
Phone: (608) 265-6351
Email: beth.hart@wisc.edu
Office: 105 South Hall

Joyce Helt, HR Manager, Faculty
Phone: (608) 263-2312
Email: joyce.helt@wisc.edu
Office: 105 South Hall

Allen Gierhart, Financial Specialist
Phone: (608) 890-1810
Email: allen.gierhart@wisc.edu
Office: 105 South Hall

Dan Lawrence, HR Assistant
Phone: (608) 262-8749
Email: daniel.lawrence@wisc.edu 
Office: 105 South Hall

Melissa Bird, Office Assistant
Phone: (608) 263-2303
Email: melissa.bird@wisc.edu
Office: 105 South Hall

Nancy Westphal-Johnson, Senior Associate Dean for Administration and Undergraduate Education
Phone: (608) 263-2506
Email: nancy.westphaljohnson@wisc.edu
Office: 306 South Hall

Academic Affairs & Administration

Note: Students looking for information on advising, careers services, and other student-focused programs should see Student Academic Affairs.

Academic Associate Deans
Campus Address: 301 South Hall
Phone: (608) 263-7221
Fax: (608) 265-3565

Greg Downey, Associate Dean for Social Sciences
greg.downey@wisc.edu

James Montgomery, Associate Dean for Fiscal Initiatives
james.montgomery@wisc.edu

Eric Wilcots, Associate Dean for Natural and Physical Sciences
eric.wilcots@wisc.edu

Susan Zaeske, Associate Dean for Arts and Humanities; Advancement
susan.zaeske@wisc.edu 

Bruno Browning, L&S Chief Information Officer (CIO)
Phone: (608) 262-1408
Email: bruno@lss.wisc.edu
Office: 279 Van Hise Hall

Christopher Bruhn, Assistant Dean for Facilities and Space Assignments
Phone: (608) 263-0300
Email: chris.bruhn@wisc.edu 
Office: 308 South Hall

Elaine Klein, Associate Dean for Academic Planning
Phone: (608) 265-8484
Email: elaine.klein@wisc.edu
Office: 307 South Hall

Lisa Tew, Assistant to the Associate Deans
Phone: (608) 263-7221
Email: lisa.tew@wisc.edu 
Office: 301 South Hall

Advancement & Communications

Jennifer Karlson, Assistant Dean for Advancement
Phone: (608) 890-0740
Email: jennifer.karlson@wisc.edu
Office: 402 South Hall

Mary Ellen Gabriel, Director of Communications
Phone: (608) 890-0931
Email: maryellen.gabriel@wisc.edu 
Office: 405 South Hall

Alissa Karnaky, Director of Alumni & Donor Engagement
Phone: (608) 890-0087
Email: karnaky@wisc.edu
Office: 404 South Hall

Sarah Morton, Graphic Designer/Photographer
Phone: (608) 890-1153
Email: sarah.morton@wisc.edu   
Office: 403 South Hall

Katie Vaughn, Senior University Relations Specialist
Phone: (608) 890-1220
Email: katie.vaughn@wisc.edu  
Office: 401 South Hall

Budget, Finance & Business Services

L&S Budget & Finance Office

Anne Gunther, Associate Dean for Budget-Finance, Budget Planning and Analysis 
Phone: (608) 263-2347
Email: anne.gunther@wisc.edu
Office: 201 South Hall

Benjamin Ball, Post-Award Senior Accountant, UW Foundation, UW System Trust
Phone: (608) 265-1170
Email: ben.ball@wisc.edu
Office:  201D South Hall

James Hovland, Accountant
Phone: (608) 263-6268; (608) 263-7221
Email: james.hovland@wisc.edu
Office: 201C South Hall

Mary Machaj, Accountant 
Phone: (608) 263-2316
Email: mary.machaj@wisc.edu 
Office: 408 South Hall

Mary Beth Roberts, Assistant Dean
Phone: (608) 263-6894
Email: marybeth.roberts@wisc.edu
Office: 201 South Hall

Kesha Weber, Financial Specialist Senior
Phone: (608) 263-2323
Email: kesha.weber@wisc.edu
Office: 208C South Hall

L&S Business Office

Campus Address: 108 South Hall  

Mehdi Rezai, Assistant Dean for Business Services
Phone: (608) 263-2317  
Email: mehdi.rezai@wisc.edu
Office: 309 South Hall   

Cathleen Conley, Accountant
Phone: (608) 263-7593
Email: cathleen.conley@wisc.edu
Office: 108 South Hall 

Michelle Massen, Accountant 
Phone: (608) 263-2300 
Email:  michelle.massen@wisc.edu 
Office: 108 South Hall  

Debra (Debi) Morgan, Accountant
Phone: (608) 263-2324
Email: debi.morgan@wisc.edu 
Office: 108 South Hall

Sheila Sugden, Associate Accountant
Phone: (608) 890-0375
Email: sheila.sugden@wisc.edu
Office: 108 South Hall 

First-Year Interest Groups (FIGs) Program

Nathan Phelps, Assistant Dean
Phone: (608) 263-6504
Email: nathan.phelps@wisc.edu
Office: 14 Ingraham Hall

Kari Fernholz, FIGs Coordinator
Phone: (608) 262-7375
Email: kari.fernholz@wisc.edu
Office: 14 Ingraham Hall

L&S Honors Program

Campus Address
Washburn Observatory
1401 Observatory Drive
Madison, WI 53706

Sabine Gross, Chair of L&S Faculty Honors Committee and Professor of German
Phone: (608) 262-2984
Email:  honors@honors.ls.wisc.edu

Human Resources & Payroll

FAX: 608-263-9601

Cheryl Adams Kadera, HR Co-Director
Phone: (608) 263-2315
Email: cheryl.adamskadera@wisc.edu
Office: 205 South Hall

Diana Allaby, HR Co-Director
Phone: 608-263-4964
Email: diana.allaby@wisc.edu
Office: 209 South Hall

Cheryl Arn, HR Representative
Phone: 608-890-4201
Email: cheryl.arn@wisc.edu
Office: 208A South Hall

Alisha Arnold, HR Manager
Phone: 608-263-2321
Email: alisha.arnold@wisc.edu
Office: 207 South Hall

Caitlin Bradish, HR Representative
Phone: 608-263-2306
Email:caitlin.bradish@wisc.edu
Office: 212C South Hall

Joe Farrenkopf, HR Representative
Phone: 608-262-1556
Email: joseph.farrenkopf@wisc.edu
Office: 212D South Hall

Joyce Helt, HR Manager, Faculty
Phone: 608-263-2312
Fax: 608-265-3564
Email: joyce.helt@wisc.edu
Office: 105 South Hall

ChoonYee Ho-Jonas, Payroll Director
Phone: 608-263-2314
Email: choonyee.hojonas@wisc.edu
Office: 206 South Hall

Dan Lawrence, HR Assistant
Phone: 608-262-8749
Email: daniel.lawrence@wisc.edu
Office: 105 South Hall

Amanda Mahr, Short Term Instructional Staff
Phone: 608-263-8873
Fax: 608-265-3565
Email: amanda.mahr@wisc.edu
Office: 301A South Hall

Lynn Malone, HR Representative
Phone: 608-262-9339
Email: lynn.malone@wisc.edu 
Office: 208C South Hall

Michelle McCrumb, HR Assistant Advanced
Phone: (608) 263-2305
Email: michelle.mccrumb@wisc.edu

Annie Powers, HR Representative
Phone: 608-262-1197
Email: annie.powers@wisc.edu
Office: 212B South Hall

Daun Wheeler, HR Manager
Phone: 608-263-2591
Email: daun.wheeler@wisc.edu
Office: 203 South Hall

Mindi Wilkinson, HR Assistant Advanced
Phone: (608) 890-3098
Email: mindi.wilkinson@wisc.edu

Information Technology (MIS)

Please note that MIS services are only available to L&S Administration and L&S Student Academic Affairs.

MIS Help Desk
Phone: (608) 262-9919
Email: helpdesk@mis.ls.wisc.edu
Office: 25 Ingraham Hall

Bruno Browning: Director
Phone: (608) 262-1408
Email: browning@wisc.edu
Office: 283 Van Hise

Learning Support Services (LSS)

Phone: (608) 262-1408
Fax: (608) 262-7579
Email: lssinfo@lss.wisc.edu

Bruno Browning, Director
Phone: (608) 262-1408
Email: bruno@lss.wisc.edu
Office: 279 Van Hise Hall

Lisa Jansen, Associate Director
Phone: (608) 262-1126
Email: eajansen@wisc.edu
Office: 287 Van Hise Hall

Andrea Miller, Office Manager
Phone: (608) 262-4261
Email: andrea@lss.wisc.edu
Office: 279 Van Hise Hall

Research Services & Policy

Office of Research Services

FAX: (608) 265-3565

Susan Ellis Weismer, Associate Dean for Research Services
Phone: (608) 263-7221
Email: susan.ellisweismer@wisc.edu
Office: 305 South Hall

Institutional Review Boards (IRBs)

Lil Larson, Assistant Dean and Director of the Education Research and Social & Behavioral Sciences IRB Office
Phone: (608) 263-2320
Email: lil.larson@wisc.edu
Office: 310 Lathrop Hall

Casey Pellien, Assistant Director for the Education and Social/Behavioral Science IRB
Phone: (608) 265-4312
Email: casey.pellien@wisc.edu
Office: 314 Lathrop Hall

Laura Conger, Associate Administrative Program Specialist
Email: 
laura.conger@wisc.edu

Kamie LeClair, IRB Submission Specialist
Phone: (608) 263-2301
Email: kamie.leclair@wisc.edu
Office: 316 Lathrop Hall 

Stephanie Wilson, Associate Administrative Program Specialist
Phone: (608) 890-0244
Email: stephanie.wilson@wisc.edu
Office: 310 Lathrop Hall

Research Administration: Grants

Linda Neusen, Assistant Dean, Pre-Award
Phone: (608) 265-9655
Email: linda.neusen@wisc.edu
Office: 413 South Hall

Kelly Mallon, Senior Administrative Program Specialist, Pre-Award
Phone: (608) 890-3044
Email: kelly.mallon@wisc.edu
Office: 411 South Hall

College of Letters & Science Animal Research Program

Kurt Stephenson, Director
Phone: (608) 265-6706
Email: kurt.stephenson@wisc.edu
Office: 307 South Hall

Technology Transfer

Rebecca Dunn, Technology Transfer
Phone: (608) 265-8287
Email: rebecca.dunn@wisc.edu
Office: 309 South Hall

Student Academic Affairs (SAA)

Campus Address
110 Ingraham Hall
1155 Observatory Drive
Madison, WI 53706-1319
Phone: (608) 262-0617
Website: saa.ls.wisc.edu
Email: lssdeans@saa.ls.wisc.edu

Cal Bergman, Associate Dean for Student Academic Affairs
Phone:  (608) 262-6545
Email: cal.bergman@wisc.edu
Office: 420B South Hall

Christopher Lee, Assistant Dean/Director, Undergraduate Academic Deans' Services
Phone: (608) 262-0617
Email: christopher.lee@wisc.edu
Office: 110 Ingraham Hall

Chris Logterman (Interim), Director, Academic Advising Services
Phone: (608) 262-5858
Email: chris.logterman@wisc.edu
Office: 155 Middleton Building

Michael Pflieger, Assistant Dean/Director, Academic Information Management
Phone: (608) 262-2007
Email: mjpflieger@wisc.edu
Office: 13 Ingraham Hall

Alison Rice, Undergraduate Scholarships Officer
Phone: (608) 262-2941
Email: alison.rice@wisc.edu
Office: 420A South Hall

Tori Richardson, Assistant Dean/Director, SAA Communications
Phone: (608) 262-0617
Email: tori.richardson@wisc.edu 
Office: 110 Ingraham Hall

Amy Sloane, Assistant Dean/Director, Undergraduate Research Scholars
Phone: (608) 265-9726
Email: amy.sloane@wisc.edu
Office: 311 Armory/Gymnasium

DeVon Wilson, Assistant Dean/Director, Center for Academic Excellence
Phone: (608) 263-5068
Email:devon.wilson@wisc.edu
Office: B4 Bascom Hall

Teaching Assistant, Project Assistant, and Graduate Student Sevices

Brian Bubenzer, Assistant Dean for Graduate Student Administration
Phone: (608) 265-0603
Email: brian.bubenzer@wisc.edu 
Office: 307B South Hall

Kim Moreland, Project Assistant
Phone: (608) 890-3850
Email: adminpa@ls.wisc.edu 
Office: 307A South Hall

Undergraduate Education & Academic Administration

Campus Address: 307 South Hall
Fax: (608) 265-3565

Nancy Westphal-Johnson, Senior Associate Dean for Administration and Undergraduate Education
Phone: (608) 263-2506
Email: nancy.westphaljohnson@wisc.edu
Office: 306 South Hall

Joni Brown, Assistant to Senior Associate Dean Nancy Westphal-Johnson
Phone: (608) 265-0457
Email: joni.brown@wisc.edu
Office: 307 South Hall

Kimbrin Cornelius, Curricular Administrative Specialist
Phone: (608) 890-3827
Email: kimbrin.cornelius@wisc.edu
Office: 307E South Hall

Lisa Tew, Assistant to the Associate Deans
Phone: (608) 263-7221
Email: lisa.tew@wisc.edu
Office: 301 South Hall

Program Review and Assessment

Elaine Klein, Associate Dean for Academic Planning; Program Reviews and Assessment; Director of General Education
Phone: (608) 265-8484
Email: elaine.klein@wisc.edu
Office:  307 South Hall 

Short Term Staffing & Summer Sessions

Amanda Mahr, HR Assistant
Phone: (608) 263-8873
Email:amanda.mahr@wisc.edu
Office: 301A South Hall

Campus Partners at the UW Foundation and the Wisconsin Alumni Association (WFAA)

University of Wisconsin Foundation (UWF)
1848 University Ave.
Madison WI  53726
Phone: (608) 263-4545
FAX: (608) 263-0781
Website: www.supportuw.org

Wisconsin Alumni Association (WAA)
650 N. Lake Street
Madison, WI 53706
Phone: (608) 262-2551
Website: www.uwalumni.com

Kevin Check, Senior Director of Campus Relations
Phone: (608) 262-9599
Email: kcheck@waastaff.com

Looking for the L&S Administrative Gateway?

The L&S Administrative Gateway contains resources and information to help our employees conduct the daily business in the college and understand L&S and university policy.