L&S Board of Visitors

Involvement of alumni and friends of the College of Letters & Science strengthens its ability to extend a tradition of excellence in education, research, and outreach that achieves the Wisconsin Idea. The Letters & Science Board of Visitors is a select group of key stakeholders with unique access to the Dean, faculty, staff, and students in order to advise and support the mission of the College.

The purpose of the Letters & Science Board of Visitors is to serve as an advisory group and partner with the Dean to provide knowledge, external perspective, and financial resources to advance the mission of the College.

From the L&S Board of Visitors Mission Statement

Current Members

Board Chair
Patricia "Pat" Donovan Wright
President, Donovan Wright Advisors LLC
Communication Arts B.S’74

Joy Amundson
Consultant, Amundson Partners
Journalism B.A.'76

Barbara Arnold
Vice President, Corporate Responsibility, Toyota Motor Sales U.S.A. (Retired)
Social Work and Sociology B.A.’73; Law J.D.’76

Herman Baumann III
Founder, Green Line Strategies LLC
Journalism B.A.'75

Joel Berman
Founder, Iatric Systems, Inc.

Michele Boal
Co-Founder/Chief Philanthropy Officer, Coupons.com
Journalism B.A.'91

Nancy Borghesi
Senior Vice President, CCC Information Services Inc. (Retired)
Economics B.A.'69

Robert "Rob" Buono
Owner, Henry Street Partners, LLC
International Studies and Political Science B.A.'86

James "Jim" Burgess
Investor/Community Advisor
Journalism B.S.'58

Kenneth "Ken" Ciriacks
Vice President, Technology, AMOCO Corporation (Retired)
Geology B.S.'58

Shoshana Dichter
Senior Vice President, Communications, Wheels Up
Journalism B.A.'92

Robert Harty
President, Cavelle Consulting Group Inc.
Political Science B.A.'82; Journalism & Mass Communication M.A.'92

Louis Holland, Jr.
President and Chief Financial Officer, Cumota LLC
Economics B.A.'86

William Jordan
Vice Chairman, Air Wisconsin Airlines Corp
Journalism B.A.’73

Michele Konner

Kay Koplovitz
Founder, Koplovitz and Co.
Radio, Television & Film B.S.’67

Jeffrey Lyons
Executive Vice President, Charles Schwab & Company, Inc. (Retired)
Political Science B.S.’78

Robert McGinnis
Chairman and CEO, Insurance Program Services Group
Political Science B.A.'80

David Meissner
Chairman, Public Policy Forum (Retired)
History B.S.’60

Alice Mortenson
Director of Community Relations, M.A. Mortenson Company
History B.S.’62

Steve Pogorzelski
President, PeopleFluent Software
Journalism B.A.’83

Philip Schemel
Managing Partner, Schemco LLC
Economics and Political Science B.A.’82

Stan Sher
Of Counsel, Cozen O’Connor LLP
History B.S.’56

George Shinners
President/Owner, Antigo Construction Inc.
Psychology B.S.’61; Industrial Relations M.S.’64

John Stanoch

Vice-Chair, Medica Health Plans Board of Directors
Political Science B.A.’80

Konrad "Kip" Testwuide IV
Senior Advisor, Rapid Ratings
Economics and Investment & Banking B.A.'80

Emeritus Members

Stephen Bablitch
Senior Vice President, Aurora Health Care
English and History B.A.’76; Law J.D.’79

Rick Beal
Managing Director, Rewards, Talent & Communication, Towers Watson
Psychology B.A.’74

John "Jack" Bolz
Investor, Oscar Mayer Company (Retired)
Economics B.S.’50

W. Jerome "Jerry" Frautschi
Chairman of the Board, W. Jerome Frautschi Foundation
Economics B.S.’56

Mary Clare Freeman
Teacher/Speech Language Clinician, Wausau District Public Schools (Retired)
Speech B.A.’48

Terry Haller
Senior Vice President/Director/Co-Founder, Exel Inns of America (Retired)
Mathematics M.A.’71

George Hamel, Jr.
Vitner, Hamel Family Wines
Communication Arts B.A.'80

Mike Jones
Of Counsel, Michael Best & Friedrich LLP
History and Philosophy B.A.’81

Judith Carlson Kelley
Director of Development, Oregon State University (Retired)
Journalism B.S.’59

Dave Kurrasch
President, Global Payment Advisors
History and Communication Arts/Radio, Television & Film B.A.’73

Cora Marrett
Deputy Director, National Science Foundation (Retired)
Sociology M.A.’65; Ph.D.’68

Walter Mirisch
President/Producer, Mirisch Corporation
History B.A.’42

Charles Phipps
General Partner, Sevin Rosen Funds (Retired)

Joy Picus
Council Member — Third District, City of Los Angeles (Retired)
Political Science B.A.’51

William Rayne
Senior Vice President, Dain Bosworth
Economics B.S.’54

Lynda Schubert
President, Schubert Associates, Inc.
English B.A.‘69

Irving Shain
Chancellor Emeritus, UW-Madison